And now on to Venus…

Perelandra (Space Trilogy, #2)Perelandra by C.S. Lewis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the second volume of his trilogy, Lewis (if I understand him correctly) continues to write a space story that functions within a premodern view of the universe (though the Earth is not at the center) and Christian theology. Perelandra is much more explicitly theological than Out of the Silient Planet, and if you are familiar with some of Lewis’ other works you can see even more the truth of Owen Barfield’s observation that “Somehow what he thought about everything was secretly present in what he said about anything” (https://books.google.com/books?id=_YM…).

It’s hard to know what to think about how Lewis extends Christian theology to other forms of life on other worlds. It was fascinating to read, and I am interested in reading some analysis of it from scholars who know more about Lewis and his influences.

View all my reviews

5 comments

    • That makes sense. There’s a reference to Silvestris, of whom I had not heard, in the last chapter (22) of Out of the Silent Planet. There’s a quotation from a letter from Dr. Ransom that refers to the word “Oyarses” in Silvestris that is similar to the title of the lead angels of the planets (Oyarsa) in the series.

    • Thanks! I like it too. I’m just glad that WordPress makes it as easy as choosing a style because I would be totally lost in trying to design anything.

Leave a comment