Some dry wit from C.S. Lewis

Justin Taylor recently excerpted the conclusion of C.S. Lewis’ defense of his approach to apologetics, a response to criticism from a liberal Anglican. Here are the first two paragraphs from the excerpt:

He judges my books in vacuo, with no consideration of the audience to whom they were addressed or the prevalent errors they were trying to combat. The Naturalist becomes a straw man because he is not found among ‘first-rate scientists’ and readers of Einstein. But I was writing ad populum, not ad clerum. This is relevant to my manner as well as my matter.

It is true, I do not understand why it is vulgar or offensive, in speaking of the Holy Trinity, to illustrate from plane and solid geometry the conception that what is self-contradictory on one level may be consistent on another. I could have understood the Doctor’s being shocked if I had compared God to an unjust judge or Christ to a thief in the night; but mathematical objects seem to me as free from sordid associations as any the mind can entertain.

 

 

In case you missed the joke, check out Luke 18, Matthew 24:43, and 1 Thessalonians 5:2.

Leave a Reply

