Dumbed-down dystopia

Fahrenheit 451Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had wanted to read this book for a long time, ever since my dad told me about it when I was young. Bradbury has a very interesting writing style that really focuses on the inner life of the main character, Guy Montag, a “fireman” of the future whose job is to burn books. Writing in 1950, Bradbury anticipates the demands for political correctness, the inanity of much television content (including news-entertainment), the dumbing-down of education, and the breakdown of the family that late 20th and early 21st century people are familiar with.

There are quite a lot of the more common curse words and uses of “God” and “Jesus” as exclamations that will grate on some readers. They did on me.

Overall, this is a brilliantly written book with a compelling story.

View all my reviews

One comment

Leave a Reply

