Socrates’ critique of the philosophers

Recently, I wrote about the pessimism of Plato regarding the preservation of philosophy in Book VI of The Republic. Here is one other note about that (it will make more sense if you read the original post first, if you haven’t done so, where you will see the thoughts below as an update).

In Book VII, Socrates does walk back a bit from this criticism, saying “I had forgotten, I said, that we were not serious, and spoke with too much excitement. For when I saw philosophy so undeservedly trampled under foot of men I could not help feeling a sort of indignation at the authors of her disgrace: and my anger made me too vehement.” He doesn’t go further with this, though, so I think my point still stands.

Leave a Reply

