Integrating a Christian college

Dolphus Weary describes his predicament in mid-1960s Mississippi in I Ain’t Comin’ Back:

I also developed a vague idea that I wanted to so [sic] something similar to John [Perkins] and the others at the ministry.  I didn’t know what, but I wanted to prepare for it as best I could.  To me that meant finishing my education at a Christian college.  There was just one problem — I didn’t know of a single accredited four-year Christian college that would admit a black person.  I knew some Bible institutes that educated blacks.  But I wanted a full college education as well as Bible instruction. (52)

Fortunately, he met the director of admissions of Los Angeles Baptist College in Newhall, now The Master’s College, after chapel at Mississippi junior college (a young John MacArthur was also visiting).  LABC offered Weary and his friend Jimmie Walker basketball scholarships.

When they got there, they realized that they were the first and only full-time black students at LABC.  While they noticed the more open racial climate of California and soon made good friends with many other students, they found that some students purposely ignored them and that others were openly hostile.  Weary recalls the cheers that he heard from some students after Martin Luther King, Jr. was assassinated.

Weary writes that he and Walker committed to confronting this prejudice without resorting to hatred.  They were eventually able to get more of their friends from Mississippi to come, including Dolphus’ future wife, Rosie.  Weary’s story is a testimony of the power of God to give courage to the downtrodden.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

